Egg producers in the North East and beyond are invited to join the Yorkshire Egg Producers Discussion Group, which hosts regular technical talks for poultry producers throughout the year.

The next evening will be on 15 June and will feature Jamie McIntosh and Adrian Marshall from Lohmann GB.

See also: Tesco pledges support for egg farmers with new contracts

April saw the return of the YEPR meeting for two years – the first since the lifting of lockdown restrictions. 

An audience of 60 members enjoyed an overview of the latest trends in nutrition from expert speaker Ralph Bishop of Premier Nutrition. 

Discussion topics included the continued use of soya in the poultry industry and the challenges of using alternative materials, how producers can practically improve their sustainability and what new developments are coming in poultry nutrition in the coming five years. 

The organising committee are now looking to raise awareness of future meetings to more producers located in the North East following the pandemic. 

The group meets quarterly on the middle Wednesday of the month at the Burn Hall Hotel at Tollerton near York. 

A carvery dinner is served at 19.30 followed by the guest speaker after. 

Producers can register their phone number and E-mail address with Jack Sowersby of EggSell for details (below) and reminders of future meetings as well as following the posts by the Yorkshire Egg Producers Discussion Group on Facebook, Twitter or Linkedin. 

Attendees must register by the Friday before the next meeting. 

Meetings currently cost £15 for the remainder of the 2022 season to cover the cost of food and venue hire, while EggSell producers can attend for free.

The final meeting of the 2022 season is on Wednesday 15 June and will feature Jamie McIntosh and Adrian Marshall from Lohmann GB, who will share learnings on global egg markets following their Nuffield scholarships.

Please E-mail to register attendance for the meeting on 15 June 2022 and contact to register for communications from the organising committee on future meetings.